Increase Business Value and Identify Improvement Potentials with ITSM Best Practices

ITIL® is the only consistent and comprehensive documentation of best practice for IT Service Management (ITSM). Worldwide used and well-proven by many hundreds of organisations, a whole ITIL® philosophy has grown up around the guidance contained within the ITIL® publications and the supporting professional qualification scheme.

ITIL® consists of a series of publications providing guidance on the provision of quality IT services, and on the accommodation and environmental facilities needed to support IT. ITIL® has been developed in recognition of organisations’ growing dependency on IT and embodies best practices for ITSM.

The ITIL® framework is based on the give stages of the service lifecycle, with a core publication providing best- practice guidance for each stage:

  • Service Strategy: to define the perspective, positions, plans and patterns of a strategy;
  • Service Design: to design IT services so effectively that minimal improvement during their lifecycle will be required;
  • Service Transition: to ensure that new, modified or retired services meet the expectations of the business;
  • Service Operation: to coordinate and carry out the processes and activities required to deliver and manage services at agreed levels to business users and customers;
  • Continual Service Improvement: to align IT services with changing business needs by identifying and implementing improvements to IT services that support business processes.

What is the ITIL® certification?

PeopleCert ITIL ATO Logo

The ITIL® is a part of the AXELOS Global Best Practice portfolio. The ITIL® certification provides a modular approach to the ITIL® framework, and is comprised of a series of qualifications focused on different aspects of ITIL® best practice to various degrees of depth and detail. The tiered structure of the qualification offers candidates flexibility relating to the different disciplines and areas of ITIL® and the ability to focus their studies on key areas of interest. There are different levels within the scheme:

ITIL Foundation

The entry level certification which offers you a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL® service lifecycle, including the links between lifecycle stages, the processes used and their contribution to service management practices.

ITIL Practitioner

The next stage in the ITIL® scheme that is developed to provide a step between Foundation and the Intermediate level and aims to improve the ability of individuals to adopt and adapt ITIL® in their organisations.

Target Audience

The ITIL® certification is designed for candidates:

  • who require a basic understanding of the ITIL® framework and how it may be used to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organisation;
  • who are IT professional working within an organisation that has adopted and adapted ITIL®;
  • who need to be informed about and thereafter contribute to an ongoing service improvement programme.

Course Outline (ITIL® Foundation)

Area 1: Service Management as a Practice

  • Concept of Best Practices in the Public Domain
  • Concepts of a Service, Internal and External Customers, Internal and External Services, Service Management, IT Service Management, and Stakeholders in Service Management
  • Definitions of Processes and Functions
  • Process Model and the Characteristics of Processes

Area 2: ITIL® Service Lifecycle

  • Structure of the ITIL Service Lifecycle
  • Purpose, Objectives and Scope of Service Strategy
  • Value provided by Service Strategy to Business
  • Purpose, Objectives and Scope of Service Design
  • Value provided by Service Design to Business
  • Purpose, Objectives and Scope of Service Transition
  • Value provided by Service Transition to Business
  • Purpose, Objectives and Scope of Service Operation
  • Value provided by Service Operation to Business
  • Purpose, Objectives and Scope of Continual Service Improvement
  • Value provided by Continual Service Improvement to Business

Area 3: Generic Concepts and Definitions

  • Outcomes, Utility and Warranty
  • Assets, Resources and Capabilities
  • Types of Services, Service Portfolio and Service Catalogue
  • Governance, Business Case, and Risk Management
  • Service Provider and Supplier
  • Service Level Management, Operational Level Management and Underpinning Contract
  • Customers, Users and Patterns of Business Activity
  • Service Design Package
  • Service Knowledge Management System (SKMS)
  • Configure Item (CI), Definitive Media Library and Configuration Management System
  • Change, Change Types, Change Proposals, Release Policy
  • Event, Alert, Availability, Incident, Impact, Urgency and Priority
  • Service Request, Problem, Workaround, Known Error, and Known Error Database (KEDB)
  • Role of Communication in Service Operation
  • CSI Register, and the Deming Cycle (Plan-Do-Check-Act)

Area 4: Key Principles and Models

  • Value Creation through Services
  • Importance of People, Processes, Products and Partners for Service Management
  • 5 Major Aspects of Service Design
  • Continual Service Improvement Approach
  • Role of Management for Continual Service Improvement
  • Relationship between Critical Success Factors (CSF) and Key Performance Indicator (KPI)
  • Baselines
  • Technology Metrics, Process Metrics and Service Metrics

Area 5: Processes

  • Service Portfolio Management
  • Financial Management for IT Services
  • Business Relationship Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Service Catalogue Management
  • Availability Management
  • Information Security Management
  • Supplier Management
  • Capacity Management
  • IT Service Continuity Management
  • Design Coordination
  • Change Management
  • Release and Deployment Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Service Asset and Configuration Management
  • Transition Planning and Support
  • Incident Management
  • Problem Management
  • Event Management
  • Request Fulfilment
  • Access Management
  • 7-step Improvement Process

Area 6: Functions, Roles, Technology and Architecture

  • Service Desk
  • Technical Management
  • Application Management
  • IT Operations Management
  • Process Owner
  • Process Manager
  • Process Practitioner
  • RACI Model and Organisational Structure
  • Service Automation
  • Competence and Skills for Service Management
  • Competence and Skills Framework
  • Training

Course Outline (ITIL® Practitioner)

ITIL Practitioner

  • Service Management concepts and the important drivers of CSI
  • Concept of "Adopt and Adapt"
  • Ability to understand and apply the ITSM guiding principles in a real-world context when planning and implementing service improvements
  • Ability to apply the CSI approach to management improvements in a given organisational context
  • Ability to use metrics and measurements to enable CSI
  • Critical Success Factors (CSFs) and Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)
  • Effective communication methods to enable CSI
  • Nature, value, importance, benefits and principles of communication
  • Ability to apply Organisational Change Management (OCM) to support CSI
  • Role and impact of OCM
  • Purpose and value of OCM activities
  • OCM tools and techniques to support improvement

ITIL® Exam Format

 ITIL® FoundationITIL® Practitioner
Question TypeMultiple ChoiceMultiple Choice;
No. of Questions4040
Duration60 minutes1 hour 45 minutes
Passing Score (%)26 out of 40 (65%)28 out of 40 (70%)
Exam StyleClosed-bookRestricted open book
– only the Official Manual
may be used

"The whole is more than the sum of its parts."

~ Aristotle